Funky jewelry storage/wall art

Standard
Funky jewelry storage/wall art

Someone in my family (knowing how much I loved to turn trash into treasures) gave me this old frame several years ago and I had been waiting for inspiration for what to create out of it.  I liked how it had a lot of “character;” it was painted gold (or at least it used to be) with several chunks missing.  When I decided it was time to do something about the jumbled mess that was my jewelry drawer, I remembered that I had the frame and decided to make some wall art that could also store and display my jewelry (most of which I made).

I started by painting the frame with chocolate brown latex paint (leaving a little gold showing through).  This helped hide the missing chunks.

Then I cut a piece of masonite (also called HDF) to fit in it.  To cut masonite you can use a box-cutting knife and straight edge, a table saw, or ask the nice people at Lowes or Home Depot to cut it for you when you buy it!

I painted the board with gold latex paint.  Then I used the brown frame paint to stencil on a design.  When that was dry I mixed the brown paint with glaze (1:1; I like the Valspar clear glaze at Lowes) and brushed it on and then used a cotton rag to dab some off and blend it.

I attached the board to the frame with glue and attached picture hanging loops and wire (the kind that is on the back of framed art) to hang my bangles from!

One response »

Leave a Reply

