Anthro-inspired Earrings

Standard
Anthro-inspired Earrings

While shopping at one of my favorite stores last week, I saw a cute pair of earrings and thought “hey, I could make some like that for less than $98!”  The earrings I made are a different color (I was in an orange mood) but similar shape to the ones that inspired me to make them!

If you don’t have much experience working with wires, this is a good introduction to the basic steps for making all kinds of earrings and pendants.

I used some silver wire, 2 silver earring hooks, a mixture of stone and glass beads, round-tipped pliers (for making loops in the wire), needle-nosed pliers (these have “teeth” for grabbing the wire), and clippers (I have some heavy-duty fingernail clippers I use solely for jewelry-making).

To get started, I use the clippers to cut 2 pieces of wire, about 3″ long.  I used the round-tipped pliers to make a loop in one end of the wire.

I used the pads of my fingers to bend the wire in to an arch shape.

Then I added the beads and used the round-tipped pliers to curl the other end of the wire into a loop.  Now I had an arch of wire with beads on it and a loop at each end (I tweaked it so that when the arch was laying flat on the table the loops were both pointing toward the table; perpendicular to the arch).

I used the pads of my fingers to bend the wire into a horseshoe shape.

Then I needed to make a wire loop to attach the ends of the wire arch together.  I wrapped the end of a piece of wire around the round-tipped pliers and made a loop (this one was bigger than the loops on the ends of the wire).

I used the clippers to clip the loop off of the wire.

With the needle-nosed pliers, I opened the loop enough to put the 2 ends of the wire arch in the loop and then used the pliers to pinch it shut.

All that was left to do was attach the earring hook. I used the needle-nosed pliers to open the loops on the hooks…

slipped in my wire loop, then used the pliers to close the earring loop.

Here they are all done!  Like them?  Be sure to enter to win them!

And I made a pair in blue too!

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: DIY Photo Key-chain {win one!} « Cheap Crafty Mama

Leave a Reply

