Travertine Photo Coasters

Standard
Travertine Photo Coasters

Happy Birthday to my sweet Mama today!   For one of her birthday gifts I made her these travertine photo coasters which turned out so cool (it was one of those projects that got my heart-rate up because I was so excited about how they turned out)!

This is a personalized handmade gift that anyone can make!

You will need:

4″x4″ travertine tiles (I got mine at Home Depot)

1 sheet of white tissue paper (wrinkle-free)

card stock printer paper

tape

mod-podge

paint brush

clear sealer (I used spray-on Minwax Polycrylic in satin finish)

1 sheet of felt

The first thing you need to do is print your photos on the tissue paper.  I found it is easiest to cut a piece of tissue paper smaller than the card stock…

and tape the tissue paper to the center of the card stock, then print your photos on it. I used Photoshop to crop my photos to 4″x4″ and make print layouts that would print 2 photos in the center of each page.

When cutting out the tissue paper photos, it is easiest to just cut it along with the card stock.

Once I had all my tissue paper photos printed and cut out, I painted a layer of Mod Podge on the tiles and adhered a photo to each tile, then allowed them to dry thouroughly.

I painted 2 more coats of Mod Podge over the photos, allowing each to dry completely.

Then I sprayed 3 coats of the clear sealer on top (allowing for drying between each one).

To finish the coasters I cut squares of felt and glued them to the back.

What a lovely and special gift!!

You might also like:

personalized photo frames

Touch-me Handprint Plaques

Photo Key-chain

28 responses »

  1. Thanks so much for this! Your technique for the tissue paper saved me a LOT of hassle! Quick question. I’m having an issue with smearing when I apply the first layer of Modge Podge (I’m using an ink jet printer) – did you have a problem with that? If so, how did you address it? Thanks!!

    • I did have a little problem with smearing but I found that if I applied the first layer of Mod Podge quickly it was okay. If you’re still having issues you could spray on a layer of the sealer first (just to seal the print so it won’t smear) and then do the Mod Podge layers, then more sealer. Hope that helps!

  2. Pingback: Two-tiered Treat Tower « Cheap Crafty Mama

  3. Pingback: Photo Bookmarks « Cheap Crafty Mama

  4. Pingback: Have Yourself a Cheap Crafty Christmas! « Cheap Crafty Mama

  5. Pingback: Kid Artwork Greeting Cards « Cheap Crafty Mama

  6. Pingback: Mirrored Photo Ornaments « Cheap Crafty Mama

  7. HI! LOVE this idea and tried it once already so far…the tile was only $2.oo at Lowes so I figure I can always get more lol…but I have a quick question….do you take the tissue paper photo back off of the card stock and then put it on the coaster or leave the card stock on and modge podge both on to coaster…I put just the tissue paper with photo printed on it onto the tile and the photo got kind of blurry and “lost” type thing but maybe I just need a diff pic?…any advice would be great! Thank YOU!

    • I only mod podged the tissue paper to the tile (the card stock was just to help the tissue paper go through the printer). When you say it got “lost” do you mean the ink blurred or the photo just didn’t show up much? If your ink is running then I would try to paint the first layer of mod podge on very quickly. If the picture doesn’t have much contrast it just might not show up too well. Hope that helps!

  8. Pingback: Top 10 Tuesday- Gifts in Jars « Cheap Crafty Mama

  9. Pingback: DIY Photo Key-chain {win one!} « Cheap Crafty Mama

  10. We loved your photo coasters so much we’re featuring you today at our {{What I Made Wednesday}} Linky Party! If you’d like, come and grab a featured button!

    Briana
    sweetpeasandbb.blogspot.com

  11. Your coasters look fab – and what a great little piece of nostalgia for your Mama as time goes by and everyone grows and changes. 🙂 Nice little reminder of family when she sits down for a cuppa or an iced tea.

Leave a Reply

