Chicken Tortilla Soup

Standard
Chicken Tortilla Soup

One of my favorite things about fall is that I get to start making soups again!  I love making soups because they are great comfort food, easy, healthy, and pretty darn cheap (for the amount it makes)!  I make huge batches and either freeze the extra for a quick supper some other time, or we just eat leftover soup for lunch for a while.  Actually I made this soup last week and I’m still enjoying it for lunch!

This is a recipe I came up with that is a little different each time I make it, depending on what we happen to have on hand so feel free to make substitutions!

Ingredients:

2 cups diced or shredded chicken (I used some leftover rotisserie chicken)

1 onion, diced

1 green bell pepper, diced

1 can diced tomatoes (Ro-tel if you like it spicy)

1 can drained pinto or black beans

1 can hominy (or regular corn- canned or frozen)

1-2 cans cream of chicken soup (2 makes it more creamy)

3 tsp. taco seasoning

1 (32 oz.) box chicken stock (or chicken bouillon cubes+water)

Garnishes:

avocado

shredded cheese

tortilla chips

cilantro

Mix together all the soup ingredients in a crock pot and cook on high for about 4 hours or low for about 8 hours.  You could also make it more quickly on the stove by sauteing the onions and peppers until tender, then adding everything else in the pot and letting it simmer for about 30 minutes.

I like to garnish the soup with shredded cheese, tortilla chips, chunks of avocado, and fresh cilantro!

You might also like:

Slow Cooker Shredded Chicken Tacos

Top 10 Pumpkin Recipes to Try

4 responses »

    • As soon as I wrote that, I reread the directions. Whoops! I’m assuming yes since no one wants to shred raw chicken! Yick! 🙂 I’ll use cooked chicken.

  1. DELICIOUS!! This will be on my menu next week for sure!!! (If I can wait that long.) Thanks so much for your sweet comment on my Caramel Apple’s post ~ involving the B’s is the only way, right!!! You know how it works best!!! 🙂 How do I “follow” you?!! Is there a way to add you to my google reader!?!? Let me know!!!

    Aimee @ ItsOverflowing

    • Thanks! Sorry my blog is new so I’m still trying to figure out the best way to set things up but on the right side of my blog you can sign up to follow me by email or facebook, or if you want to add me to your google reader you just put my address (www.cheapcraftymama.com) in google reader.

Leave a Reply

