Chocolate Chip-Oatmeal-Coconut Chewy Cookies {my new fav}

Standard
Chocolate Chip-Oatmeal-Coconut Chewy Cookies {my new fav}

I used to have a chocolate chip cookie recipe that I made all the time and they always turned out great but they had a lot of trans-fats so I decided to find a new recipe, and I fell in love with these cookies!  They have the perfect amount of chewiness and also some yummy healthy stuff added in too so you don’t feel so bad about going back for seconds (or thirds, or eating them for breakfast!)

The other great thing about this recipe is that it makes a *ton* of cookie dough so you can freeze some to have on hand for emergency cookie situations!

Inspired by this recipe from allrecipes.com

Ingredients:

1-3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1 cup softened butter

1-1/4 cups packed brown sugar

2 eggs

2 Tbs. milk

2 tsp. vanilla extract

3 cups rolled oats

2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 cup shredded coconut

1 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

I started preheating the oven to 375 and whisking the flour and baking soda together in a bowl.

I put the butter and brown sugar in the mixer and turned it on to a med-high setting.

Once they were starting to get fluffy, I added (one at a time and mixing between additions) the eggs, milk, and vanilla and mixed for a minute so it was nice and fluffy.

Then I added the flour mixture in and mixed it until it was all incorporated .

Next I added the oatmeal, chocolate chips, and coconut and switched to the paddle mixer attachment.  I mixed until it was just mixed together.

I formed golf-sized balls and put them on the cookie sheet.

Then I baked the cookies for 10 minutes (or until they are just starting to get toasty around the edges) and let them cool.

They are quite delicious when they are still warm but they are also still delightfully chewy for several days (if they last that long).

I took the extra dough and shaped it into a log shape, wrapped it in foil, and stuck it in the freezer.

Enjoy!

You might also like:

Buffalo Chicken Wraps

Slow-cooker Shredded Chicken Tacos

Top 10 Pumpkin Recipes to Try

5 responses »

  1. I was not happy with the way it printed. All the other stuff etc. All I wanted was the recipe itself. I will be anxious to try it though. Thanks.

    • Sorry all the pictures print too. I’m planning on starting to make a “printable” version of all of my recipes now that I’m getting so many but haven’t had a chance to do it yet. You can copy and paste the words in Word if you want. Hope you do try them though, they always turn out great!

Leave a Reply

