Nature Nursery

Standard
Nature Nursery

When I was thinking about how I wanted to decorate our baby’s room I decided to go with a theme that could work for a boy or a girl so we can use it for multiple children.  We love to be outside so I decided to go with a nature theme in bright, cheerful colors.  I love it so much that it is now my favorite room in the house!

I painted the walls and ceiling a light aqua color with one accent wall with large green harlequin print.  To create the harlequin pattern I first painted the wall light green and then used a green colored pencil to draw on the harlequin lines using a laser level and measuring stick.  Then I painted the diamonds with some slightly darker green paint mixed with glaze, so that some of the lighter green would show through too.

I used acrylic paint to paint trees around the room by hand.

The glider and lamp were both thrift store finds that I painted with spray paint.  Also I re-covered the cushions on the glider.  My husband built the toy chest/ottoman and I upholstered that with matching fabric.

All of the furniture is family hand-me-downs.  I especially love the birds-eye-maple dressers which were part of my bedroom furniture when I was a child (and also my mother’s when she was a child).

I made the bedding out of some paisley and polka-dot fabrics.  My Mother-in-law made the beautiful quilt!

The tree over the bed has a red cardinal perched on it because that bird is special to my family.

I painted our family dogs chasing a squirrel because that is what they love to do all day!

I made curtains to match the bedding with dragonfly appliques (click here for a tutorial).  The tabs on the top are made out of extra fabric from the quilt and random buttons.

I wanted to use random letters for my son’s name.  His dad helped me make the “W” out of some scrap bead-board.  The “i” is a piece of wood I found at my in-laws barn.  The first “l” is a ruler that belonged to my grandfather, and the second one is leftover from another project.

To display a couple infant photos, I painted some old frames yellow and hung them with 3-m mounting velcro.  Then I hung the framed photos in the middle of the frames.

I did add a few touches around the room to make it more boyish, like dragonflies, a frog, and a lizard.  If our next child happens to be a girl it would be pretty easy to add some flowers to the trees and growing from the base-boards!

I don’t know if it has anything to do with the painting in his nursery, but our boy absolutely loves to be outside and he also loves dogs!

You might also like:

Craft/Laundry Room

Funky Jewelry Sorage/Wall Art

Faux Mosaic and Stone Tiles

14 responses »

  1. Pingback: Just what every cheap crafty mama needs… a place to be crafty! « Cheap Crafty Mama

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Tuesday- Valentines Ideas « Cheap Crafty Mama

  3. Pingback: Painted Dining Room « Cheap Crafty Mama

  4. Pingback: Big Announcement… {drum-roll please} « Cheap Crafty Mama

  5. Pingback: Colorful Nature Bathroom « Cheap Crafty Mama

  6. Hello! I absolutely love your painted dogs & squirrel on the wall! What a cute idea. The whole room is darling. Linking to you today from my blog. I hope you don’t mind if I use your picture. If you do, please let me know and I will take it down. I found you through Carolyn’s Inspiration Homework blog.

Leave a Reply

