Colorful Nature Bathroom

Standard
Colorful Nature Bathroom

I got so much nice feedback from my son’s nature nursery that I posted about so I thought you would like to have a peek at his bathroom too!

Just like the bedroom, I didn’t want the nursery to be too gender-specific.  I wanted it to be cheerful and unique.

The biggest project we did in the bathroom was the mosaic frame around the mirror.  We started with a standard, builder-grade flat mirror.  My sweet hubby built a wooden frame to fit on top of the mirror and I put the mosaic on the frame.

I gathered glass blobs, little mirrors, and broken tiles and plates, then used E-6000 glue to attach them to the wood.  Once the glue was dry, I applied white non-sanded grout around the tiles and wiped off the excess with a tiling sponge.  Once that was dry I painted the exposed wood on the edges of the frame with white latex paint.

To attach the frame to the mirror, I left a few blank spots on the frame without tiles and we put long screws through the frame into the wall (the frame over-hangs the mirror on the sides so we were able to screw through the frame without hitting the mirror).  Then I glued some mosaic pieces on top of the screws and grouted around them so the screws are hidden.

I painted the walls with a light aqua color that I also used on the walls in the nursery.  Then I went over them with a darker aqua glaze.  I applied it very softly and used a soft brush to blend any rag or brush marks so it just looks kind of cloudy.  I really like the way the walls look, they make me think of water.

I sewed this bath curtain and made the frog and bug appliques (here’s how to make appliques).

I painted 3 canvases for the bathroom: a frog, a turtle, and a dragonfly. They all have different colorful patterns in the background.

I found a cheap ceramic soap dispenser and painted stripes and dragonflies to match the bathroom, using ceramic paint.

I’m thrilled with how the bathroom (and the nursery) turned out.  I think they will last for several years.  If I want to change the look of the bathroom someday I could just use a new shower curtain and wall art for a more grown-up look, but for now bugs and frogs are perfect!!

You might also like:

Nature Nursery

Faux Mosaic and Stone Tiles

Trash to Treasure Console Table

7 responses »

Leave a Reply

