Sweet Lil Owl Onesie

Standard
Sweet Lil Owl Onesie

Happy Thanksgiving!  I hope you all have a wonderful day filled with love and happiness with the ones you love!  I’m thankful to you for reading my blog!

It seems like everyone I know is having baby boys so when I have a friend who is having a baby girl I get extra excited about making cute girly things for them!  I made this cute owl onesie and added long sleeves from an old t-shirt.  Also to complete the ensemble I made a little hat with a flower to match the onesie (here is the hat tutorial).

I started out with a onesie and a women’s striped t-shirt (I got it for free).

I measured the ends of the sleeves on the onesie and the opening was 3″ so I cut 2 rectangles of t-shirt fabric that were 6.5″ wide (to be folded over to 3-1/4″ wide, to allow for the seam) by 7″ long.

I folded the striped fabric in half and sewed a 1/4″ seam down the side.

Next I turned the onesie inside-out and turned the sleeve right-side-out, put the striped sleeve over the onesie sleeve, and pinned it in place (lining up the seams).

I sewed a 1/4″ seam around the edge of the sleeves, then turned it all right-side-out.

Next, to make the applique, I used this awesome template from Lil Blue Boo.  I printed it and traced the shapes on to the applique paper.

Then I cut the shapes separate, stuck them to the fabrics I had chosen, then cut on the lines to cut the appliques out of the fabric. (For more on making appliques click here)

I stuck all the layers of the applique together, stuck it in place on the onesie, and ironed it on.

Then to finish the onesie I sewed on button eyes and a cute little bow made out of ribbon!

You might also like:

Pretty Spitty Baby Set

Baby Girl Flower Hat

Little Helper Apron

8 responses »

  1. Pingback: Baby Girl Flower Hat « Cheap Crafty Mama

Leave a Reply

