My Christmas Confessions

Standard

You might have wondered how I have time to care for a 1-year-old and still have time to create so many things and blog about it.  Well let me tell you, there are a lot of things left un-checked on my to-do-list!

You may recall my beautiful, organized craft room?  Well as you know I have been busy making several Christmas gifts, and now this is what it looks like (eek!):

It’s true and I’m not proud.  I promise to get it back in beautiful crafty shape as soon as I finish all these gifts!

And you may also be thinking… “I bet the cheap crafty mama has a beautifully crafty Christmas tree in her house.”  Well my friends, this is what my tree looks like:

Yep, that’s right not one single ornament.  Not even the lovely mirrored photo ornaments or beaded cross ornaments that I showed you how to make (I did put a bow on top, out of reach of sticky little toddler hands).  This is because I have a curious and playful 15-month-old boy running around and getting into everything.  I debated about putting up a tree at all and decided to just put up the plain ole pre-lit tree so he could get some practice being around trees, but I thought the ornaments would cause too much holiday stress and I don’t want any of that.

Last but not least, my Christmas confession is that for the first time in the 8 years I have been married {gulp} I didn’t make all of my Christmas cards by hand.  This is not to say that I wasn’t cheap and crafty about making Christmas cards because I certainly was.  I made 1 Christmas Card (that’s right, 1) using scrapbook paper, a button, and a little help from Photoshop, and then printed it to send to our friends and relatives.  Not only that but I used an online discount code and got all of our cards shipped to me for a total of $6.75!  I really do enjoy making cards but just didn’t want the stress of making all of them this year and using up precious naptime, and also it ended up costing a lot less to have them printed so I’m not feeling too bad about cheating!

Here’s how it turned out:

There is just SO much going on this time of year and you can’t do it all.  You have to choose what is most important to you and how your time will be best spent so that you will have time and energy to focus on what is important to you!

I hope you are all having a joy-filled Christmas season and not getting too stressed about trying to  do everything.  If you have any Christmas confessions I would love it if you would share them with us, it feels good to get it off your chest!

You might also like:

Mirrored Photo Ornaments

Beaded Cross Ornament

Hand-painted Wooden Christmas Signs

Easy Christmas Centerpiece

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Organized Spaces « Cheap Crafty Mama

  2. Pingback: Have Yourself a Cheap Crafty Christmas! « Cheap Crafty Mama

  3. Love this! Makes me feel better to know not everyone is perfect! Thanks so much! I plan to attempt the gift card snow globe. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

