Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie

Standard
Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie

This pie is inspired by my Grandmother’s pecan pie which was a holiday staple in our family.  I did added a little something extra to my version but I still think of her whenever I make it!  I made it for Thanksgiving this year and it is always perfect for special occasions!

Ingredients:

1 pie crust

1 cup sugar

1 cup Karo syrup

1 tsp. vanilla

3 eggs

1/2 stick butter

2 oz. unsweetened chocolate

3 T. bourbon

1-1/2 cups pecans

Preheat the oven to 425.

Combine sugar, Karo, vanilla, and eggs in a bowl.

Chop up the chocolate and put it in a bowl with the butter (as you can see I accidentally used a whole stick of butter which is never a problem but 1/2 stick will be enough, guess I was having a Paula Deen moment).  Microwave for 45 seconds, stir, and repeat until it is all melted.

Combine the chocolate/butter mixture with the sugar mixture (you know it’s going to be good if that is one of the steps).  Mix it together well (I ended up using my stand mixer because it was too hard to mix by hand) and then add the pecans.

Pour the mixture into a prepared pie crust. Bake at 425 for 8 minutes and then at 350 for 45 minutes.

I had some extra filling and I happened to have some extra pie crust too so I made some mini-pies in muffin tins (I cut out the pie crusts with a biscuit cutter), they were delightful!  It was perfect because when the big pie was done I wanted to dig in so I was able to have some mini-pies instead and save the big one for Thanksgiving!

You might also like:

Chicken-spinach-artichoke Lasagna

Chicken Tortilla Soup

Slow Cooker Shredded Chicken Tacos

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

