Saucy Dressed-up Chicken

Standard
Saucy Dressed-up Chicken

I love to cook food from scratch, it is something I enjoy doing with my leisure time.  But let’s face it, I don’t have all that much leisure time and sometimes I need meals that I can throw together during nap-time and then stick in the oven before dinnertime that will make the house smell great when the hubby gets home and make a delicious dinner for us that tastes a lot fancier than it really is.  This is one of those meals.

Ingredients:

2-4 chicken breasts (I used 2 because they were huge)

2-4 slices of Swiss cheese (1 per breast)

1 can cream of chicken soup

1/4 cup white wine

1 box cornbread stuffing mix

3/4 cup water

Start by combining the stuffing mix and water in a bowl so the water can get soaked up.

In another bowl, mix the wine with the cream of chicken soup.

Lay the chicken breasts in a baking dish with the slices of Swiss cheese on top.

Pour the sauce on top of the chicken and then sprinkle the dressing on top.

Bake at 350 for around 45 minutes, depending on the thickness of the chicken.  I used a meat thermometer to check mine to make sure it was done, it needs to be at least 160 degrees.

I also roasted some veggies while I baked the chicken so I had a complete meal ready to come out of the oven.  I tossed chunks of sweet potatoes, carrots, and butternut squash with some fresh rosemary, olive oil, and salt in a baking pan and baked it as long as I baked the chicken.  I did take the veggies out to stir them half-way through.  It was a very yummy and easy dinner!

You might also like:

Chicken-spinach-artichoke Lasagna

Chicken Tortilla Soup

Slow Cooker Shredded Chicken Tacos

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Chicken Bacon Puff Pockets « Cheap Crafty Mama

Leave a Reply

