Marbleized Hearts {toddler craft}

Standard
Marbleized Hearts {toddler craft}

I saw this cute craft idea on Pinterest and just had to try it!  We had so much fun (and made some major messes) creating these adorable paper hearts for Valentines and I am thrilled with the way they turned out!

These hearts are inspired by these I saw on “Broken Treasures.”

You will need:

plate (I used disposable)

red paint (I definitely recommend washable)

shaving cream

knife for spreading and scraping

paper hearts (I cut mine out of card-stock paper)

a wet rag to wipe messy fingers

I started by covering a plate with shaving cream.  Then I squirted on dots of the red paint and we used the knife to swirl it around in the shaving cream.

Here’s some more swirl action (with little hands helping).

Once it was nice and swirly, we pressed a paper heart into the paint/shaving cream.

Then we pulled off the heart and set it aside to dry for about 5 minutes.  This is what the hearts look like at this stage… and this is what my belly looks like at this stage (glad it’s washable paint).

After drying for around 5 minutes, I scraped the paint/shaving cream off the hearts with the flat side of a knife.

Then we let them dry completely and, voila– beautiful marbleized hearts!

Okay, I’m not going to lie to you… voila— you also have a big mess!  I recommend using a drop cloth, aprons or paint shirts (I was good about putting them on the kids but obviously forgot to put one on me) and having another adult to help if you are doing this with multiple kids!  Since we used washable paint we were able to clean it all up easily and making the mess was half the fun!

You might also like:

Finger Paints {recipe}

Perfect Playdough {recipe}

Fun Food for Kids

24 responses »

  1. Pingback: Paper Heart Art {3 toddler crafts} « Cheap Crafty Mama

Leave a Reply

