Bunting Curtains

Standard
Bunting Curtains

As you may know, I have been working on my little boy’s “big boy room” to make room for a new inhabitant to his nursery!  I am having so much fun getting the new room set up!  Here are a few of the projects I have done so far:

You can click on the image to see the tutorial.

And there are plenty more in the works!

One of my favorites so far (okay who am I kidding, they are all my favorites) is the bunting curtains I made to adorn his windows!  I love having curtains because they add color to the walls and dress up plain windows (we are just using the blackout shades that came with our house), but I didn’t want them to be too froo-froo (since he is a very boyish boy) so I thought bunting would be perfect because it reminds me of pennants and I think it looks very playful.

I have to warn you, I’m the kind of crafter who likes to save time and money and take short-cuts if it’s not going to affect the end product and I did that while making these curtains; I was just so excited about them that I couldn’t wait to have them done!

To get started, I made a triangle template out of card-stock that was 10″ wide and 12″ tall.  I traced this onto the back side of 9 pieces of fabric (that was left-over from the quilt I made for his bed).

Then, I laid the fabric on pieces of white canvas and pinned them together.

Next, I sewed along the bottom 2 edges of the triangles.

After sewing them, I trimmed of the extra fabric around the triangle so there was just a 1/4″ border

I turned the triangles right-side-out and ironed them flat.

Next, I sewed along the top edge of the triangles.  It doesn’t matter that the edge looks rough because it will be covered up when we are done (like I said, I like to take shortcuts if nobody will notice).

Then it was time to attach the triangles to the curtain rod.  I used a plain curtain rod that came with our house (I told you I’m cheap).  I hot-glued each triangle directly onto the curtain rod.

Then I glued a blue ribbon along the rod to cover up the tops of the triangles.

Here’s how they turned out:

Love it!

You might also like:

Faux Mosaic and Stone Tiles

Colorful Nature Bathroom

Nature Nursery

11 responses »

  1. Pingback: Striped Quilt « Cheap Crafty Mama

Leave a Reply

