Fun Times in Belize

Standard
Fun Times in Belize

Last week at this time I was with my sweet hubby on a plane to Belize! (Did you miss me? I missed all of your sweet comments!)  We had a really wonderful time and I wanted to show you a little bit of what we did!

When we got to Belize City we took a little (and I mean little) plane to Ambergris Caye (a bee-utiful tropical island).  Here is the view of Belize city from the plane:

When we arrived at Pelican Reef Villas Resort, a couple miles south of the San Pedro (the town on the island) we were greeted with cold fruity drinks (virgin for me, ug).  We were SO happy we chose to stay there.  Not only was it unbelievably beautiful, but the staff was so kind, helpful, and full of information.  They helped us decide where to go eat and what to do, made reservations, and arranged transportation for all of our activities.  We were so happy with everything we decided to do and didn’t regret anything.  Here is a view of the pool, where we sat to eat breakfast every morning:

Here is the beach at our resort (where I spent a lot of time):

And the ocean view (can’t beat that!):

The resort had kayaks and bikes for our use so we took full advantage! We kayaked out to the reef just off shore and did some snorkeling.  One of the best things about Belize is that they have the 2nd largest barrier reef in the world and it is very close to shore.  The corals and the sea-life were amazing and so close to the surface that you didn’t need to scuba dive to see amazing things (I can’t scuba since I’m pregnant).

We also rode the bikes along the beach to town to do a little exploring!  We went to this really cool restaurant called El Fogon for traditional Belizian food.  They cooked it outside over a fire; I loved their outdoor kitchen:

My husband went on a day-long dive trip to The Blue Hole (a fabulous dive destination) and I stayed on the beach for a day of relaxation!  Can’t remember the last time I had one of those!  I learned that my new baby is a lot more active than I have ever realized, I’m just never still enough to notice him moving so much.

Our hotel even arranged for a masseuse to come give me a prenatal massage on the beach!  That was a little bit of heaven!  I tried to memorize all of my senses so that can be my “happy place” I can go to in my head if I ever need to relax!

We saw lots of interesting wildlife on the land: iguanas, crabs, raccoons, birds, and we even saw an ant-eater being walked on a leash!

In the water the animals were especially amazing!  We took a short boat-ride from our dock to Hol Chan marine preserve and shark ray alley and did the best snorkeling I have ever done.  We saw amazing corals, beautiful and colorful fish, a sea turtle, moray eel, huge sting rays, and nurse sharks.  Here is a photo of some nurse sharks and sting rays I took from the boat:

One of the best things about our trip was all the wonderful food we ate!  The seafood was so fresh and delicious and I really loved the Caribbean flavors.  I’m sure you will be seeing some recipes from me inspired by the flavors there.  Our favorite place we had dinner was called “Hidden Treasure.”  It was a very romantic open-air restaurant with delicious food (we went there 2 nights)!

One of the hardest things about going on this trip was leaving our almost 18-month-old little boy (who stayed home with grandparents) but it actually went really well.  We missed him but it didn’t put a damper on our trip.  He asked for us while we were gone but it seems like he had a great time with his grandparents.  I thought that when we got home he might be mad at us for leaving him but he was just giddy and really happy to see us!

This trip was the perfect blend of adventure and relaxation for us!  It was just right for our babymoon and I’m so thankful we got to go!

You might also like:

Colorful Nature Bathroom

Craft/Laundry Room

Fun Food for Kids

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Grilled Salmon with Fruit Salsa « Cheap Crafty Mama

  2. I was there in 2003 and loved it, my brother got married there…the only thing I didn’t like was the mosquito’s…how were they for you? We did the Marine reserve too and went to a neighboring island it was so beautiful and memorable. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

