Grilled Salmon with Fruit Salsa

Standard
Grilled Salmon with Fruit Salsa

We have been having such delightfully pleasant weather lately that it just seems wrong to be inside (I know my son would agree with me).  I’ve learned recently that a great way to cook dinner on a beautiful day (especially if you have an active toddler that wants to be outside all the time) is to grill it.  I like to do some prep work while he is napping so I can have everything ready to throw on the grill in the evening.

This meal is also inspired by my recent trip to Belize where I decided I needed to start including more tropical fruits (and fish) in our meals!  I love the way the salsa pairs sweet with spicy, it is a perfect topping for the salmon.

Ingredients:

1-1/2 cup fresh diced pineapple

1/2 cup diced red bell pepper

1/4 cup finely minced onion

1 diced jalepeno (with the seeds and veins removed)

1/3 cup chopped cilantro

1/4 tsp. chili powder

1/4 tsp. salt

juice from 1-2 limes (depending on how juicy they are)

2-4 pieces of salmon fillet

salt (for sprinkling)

lemon pepper (for sprinkling)

chili powder (for sprinkling)

First dice all the fruits and veggies for the salsa.

Mix the first 8 ingredients in a bowl.

The jalepeno I used happened to be extremely hot even though I removed the seeds and veins.  I just added half of it and then tasted the salsa to see how spicy it was and it was plenty spicy so I discarded the rest of the jalepeno.

To prepare the salmon, sprinkle it with lemon pepper, chili powder, and salt and put it on a grill heated to medium-hot.  I like to use a fish basket because it makes it much easier to turn.

I wanted to make the whole meal on the grill so I also tossed some asparagus (that had been marinated in olive oil, salt, and lemon pepper) in a grill basket and put some bread (coated in butter, parmesean, and herbs) on the top shelf in the grill.  The asparagus took the longest to cook so I started grilling it before the fish.

The salmon only needs to grill for a few minutes per side, depending on the thickness of the fish.  You can tell when it is done because it has some nice grill-marks and it flakes easily with a fork.

When the salmon is done I like to spritz a little lime juice on it and then top it with the fresh fruit salsa.

 Mmm…. it is a treat for my taste buds and my eyes!

 You might also like:

Smart Fish Cakes

Spinach and Ham Quiche

Saucy Dressed Up Chicken

2 responses »

  1. I love salmon and tropical fruits! I love how healthy this is! I have gone to Belize on several mission trips and I love the food there-so healthy and fresh! I would love for you to share this family friendly, oh so healthy recipe with us at Kids in the Kitchen! What a wonderful dish for us to make and have kids help prepare! The link is here: http://younglivingoillady.com/home/kids-in-the-kitchen-week-3/ Please feel free to share your amazing healthy dishes with us each week. Blessings, Carrie at younglivingoillady.com

Leave a Reply

